The option to delete is available for empty groups and groups that contain archived jobs. If you're trying to delete a group that contains archived jobs, the group will be archived instead of deleted so you don't lose content. Groups containing draft or published jobs cannot be deleted.
Groups that were disabled on your site are hidden from end users until they're published. The Publish action is only available for previously disabled groups.